My Next Keyboard: ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II

I have been a religious user of the Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon since the first generation of the laptop. Now, I haven’t had much of a choice since that is the laptop of choice for my employer, but I have through GadgetSyrup used dozens of other keyboards. The only one that I liked as much as the ThinkPad has been the Surface Book 2.

When I am at work or at my home office though, I spend a fair amount of time using either my desktop or have my X1 Carbon docked and not using its internal keyboard. I always prefer the feel of the X1 keyboard though, so will often use the laptop undocked when typing up a post or a long email. However, I think I found the solution.

On the eve of CES 2020 Lenovo announced the ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II which brings the ThinkPad typing experience to the desktop PC and it looks great!

It’s not cheap though, so it will be a tough pill to swallow when I inevitably purchase one. Lenovo is saying that the ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II will launch in May 2020 for USD $100

The ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II connects to your PC via 2.4Ghz wireless or Bluetooth 5. They keyboard is rechargeable too thanks to its USB-C connection. According to Lenovo a single charge should last for two months depending on your level of use. Since it connects via Bluetooth, this could also be used with other devices, such as an Android phone or tablet.

What do you think of the ThinkPad TrackPoint Keyboard II? Will it be your next keyboard? What other keyboards do you prefer?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.